In the Last Quarter of School #SOL19

Image result for windy

In the last quarter of school,

time speeds up,

activities increase,

and energy intensifies like a windstorm.

 

In the last quarter of school,

am I coming or going,

which way is up,

and what day is it anyway?

 

In the last quarter of school,

field trips abound,

special programs come in,

and let’s not forget the testing.

 

In the last quarter of school,

I squeeze in my lessons,

repeat the procedures,

and did I mention the testing?

 

In the last quarter of school,

I begin to miss my learners already.

Do they really have to move on?

Where did this school year go?

 

In the last quarter of school,

I’ll prepare for summer,

I’ll close out my room,

and I’ll take a breath.

 

Then I’ll plan to do it all over again next year.

8 thoughts on “In the Last Quarter of School #SOL19

  1. Your line about already missing your learners resonated with me. I have a fifth grade group that I’ve worked with for multiple years and I am going to miss them so much when they leave for middle school. They have brightened my day for so long!

    • I love working with students for multiple years, but it is hard to watch them go to the middle school. It is almost like watching your own kids leave the nest!

  2. This is so true about the last part of the school year! I am not in the classroom right now, but I see that same thing as a coach. It’s a weird time warp, in a way… how the year ebbs and flows with its speed…

    Great slice!

  3. I do like this part of the year where we start looking ahead to next year! There is excitement in new plans~

  4. oh, so true! Last quarter is such a juxtaposition – we all yearn for summer to come fast but in the meantime SO much is crammed into the last part of the school year!

    • Juxtaposition is a perfect word to describe this! As much as I love summer, I always feel a bit of a crash after the busyness of the last weeks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *