Report Card Weekend #SOL19

As I spend the end-of-the-grading-period-report-card-work weekend writing student report card comments, I am reflecting upon my procedures and how to streamline them for the next go around.  I do this continually, and it does improve a little each time.

My writing students and I discuss their strengths and goals as we conference, so it would be easy to think that all of this work together during conferencing would make my final commenting easy and quick.  Just write what is in my notes for each child, right?  This is not the case.  I still find myself working on the perfect wording, making sure that I truly agree with the strengths and goals, and adding strengths that I pick up on as I reflect on my notes and consider other classroom performance throughout the quarter.

I may be able to tweak this process a little here and there, but when it comes right down to it, there’s no avoiding the time it takes to write thoughtful, reflective comments.

keyboardCreative Commons License

Bernal Saborio via Compfight

14 thoughts on “Report Card Weekend #SOL19

  1. Yes, it is a time consuming exercise. Your students are lucky to have a teacher who takes the time to write appropriately and thoughtfully for each individual!

  2. I miss almost everything about teaching children full time; except the report card comment weekends! It takes time to do it right – endless hours – and when you realized every word counts – and every word can make a difference…..sigh ……good luck.

  3. There really is no short cut for comments. I agree that – it takes to write thoughtful, reflective comments – and nothing can replace that.

  4. I write narrative reports for my students and it does take time to craft those words because you do want to make sure that the comments truly reflect each child. However, that time is so worthwhile:)

  5. An I complain that report cards are twice a year. Yikes! Your students are so very lucky to have a teacher who puts that much thought and energy into their comments, Tracy.

    • Thank you, Christie! How does that work? Is it only kindergarten that is twice a year or the whole school? Thank you for reading!

  6. I wrote about writing comments this weekend too! It’s time consuming for sure. I start writing them in my head about two weeks before and that helps me.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *