Through the Eyes of A Six Year Old

It is the day after Christmas.  I am watching my youngest granddaughter make designs using a Spirograph and various colored pens.  She is only six, yet she is intent on creating specific designs, taking care to choose the right wheel and the best colors.

Occasionally the pen slips out of the hole or the wheel jumps off of the sprockets on the ring.  She gets frustrated but not for long.  She sets her mind to work figuring out a solution so she can achieve the result she wants.

There is no settling.

She knows what she wants, nothing more, nothing less. She does not allow her initial feeling of frustration to derail her from the task at hand. I admire her clear focus and singular determination.

I want to be more like her.

8 thoughts on “Through the Eyes of A Six Year Old

  1. Oh I do, too, Tracy! I’m not sure how patient I would have been. I loved the Spirograph set my sister and I shared growing up. Now I wonder what happened to it!

    • I would have become frustrated, too! She was not about to let that deter her. I love her tenacity!

      I had a Spirograph as a child, too. My husband found the current one a couple of years ago and bought it as a Christmas gift. My youngest granddaughter loves it!

  2. I’m so glad that you shared this! This is exactly what I needed to read after a couple of rough writing days. This gave me a great perspective! It also reminded me of drawing with a Spirograph many years ago😊

    • Wasn’t the Spirograph great? I have many fond memories of mine.

      I hope you find your writing to be more productive. Happy New Year, friend!

  3. I used to have a Spirograph as a little girl. It was my absolute favorite. I loved seeing the designs I could create. I hope you granddaughter continues to create and persevere through her frustrations.

  4. This is refreshing to read becasue it seems like many of my students lack this desire to problem solve and to stay determined when things don’t go as planned. I loved my Spirograph. I didn’t realize they still made them. Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year, Leigh Anne! My husband found an anniversary edition of the Spirograph in the store a couple of years ago and bought it for Christmas.

      I know what you mean about the problem solving!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *