An Exercise in Gratitude

Some days are difficult.  Today was one of those days.  To pull myself out of the negativity that surrounds me, I am going to reflect on the things that happened today for which I am grateful.

  1. Bella’s daily hugs-Everyday she blesses me with a hug as she enters my room and a hug as she exits my room.
  2. Engaged, happy students-Today my learners worked on using the Chrome Music Lab to create songs and add them to their blogs.  They were completely immersed in the experience!
  3. A laugh with my neighbors-Believe it or not, the building next door to me is my dentist’s office, and he and his staff are the best neighbors.  I had a routine appointment after school.  We talked, laughed, and caught up.
  4. Giving good news-I was able to share with a teacher of record that her student is doing great.  In fact, his jolly nature made lots of people feel joyful today!
  5. Chatting with friends-I was able to speak with two primary teachers today before school.  They are friends, as well as prayer warriors, and I am grateful to chat briefly with both of them.  I also chatted for a very brief moment after school with a dear long-time colleague and friend.
  6. Fresh air and sunshine-I was able to enjoy the sunshine on my face at recess.
  7. Jeans week-I am wearing jeans to work all week to help the fundraising efforts for Dollars for Scholars.
  8. Dinner-My husband cooked a delicious dinner on this busy evening.  I am indeed blessed.
  9. Teach Write-Tuesday evenings with the most awesome writing group ever…priceless!

My positive experiences today definitely outweigh the negative.  For that, I am grateful.

8 thoughts on “An Exercise in Gratitude

  1. I love how you embraced all of the good things about the things you are grateful for because it’s so easy to fall prey to negativity. There are so many wonderful things on this list! I agree that #9 is priceless!

  2. Thank you for this today! It’s exactly what I needed to read after a similar “difficult” kind of day. Thanks for the lift out of the hole! ❤️

  3. I’ve engaged in 30 Days of Thanks every November for the past few years. I’ve found that being involved in a daily gratitude practice helps me engage in searching for things I’m grateful for the rest of the year.

  4. Number 9 is what I am doing after I went in depression last year due to a breakup. All others are also great but I believe that you have to keep yourself engaged in one way or the other. The best way is to not let the dark side haunt you because that’s what makes you depressed and grabs you into abyss. For example I have started this fitness workout routine that I also teach others through my blog. I also mentor people about how to cope up with depression through my own experience.
    Thanks again for the great blog. Keep rocking!

    • You are right. The darkness can get such a grip on a person. Exercise does help so much! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *